MPVClub.com home Log in to check your private messages Support MPVClub.com!

2004 MPV Coil & Plug Replacement
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MPVClub.com Forum Index -> 00-06 MPV Problems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dannysentme

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 1:18 am    Post subject: 2004 MPV Coil & Plug Replacement Reply with quote

Hello All,

I would like to thank everyone on this forum for their valuable insight. Bubba - you inspired me to do my own work, and believe it or not...it was a success!

I studied the content on here concerning 2004 MPV rough idle, rough acceleration because those were my MPV symptoms to a T! I even changed out the IAC and that did nothing. After months of this, the van finally started throwing CEL codes P0300, only to turn out as Random Misfire. Finally, it narrowed it down to P0303. I ordered three coils from www.rockauto.com STANDARD MOTOR PRODUCTS UF406 (which I was referred to from this forum) and found that their parts were very competitive and shipped in a timely manor. I also ordered 6 new plugs - MOTORCRAFT SP433 Platinum Plugs. I called and confirmed with the Mazda Dealer to confirm.

As recommended by another post, I too left the throttle body hanging after removing the four bolts and simply moved the manifold off to the side, never disconnecting or draining the coolant lines. I took some pics so that you can see what a 2004 looks like, hopefully they'll attach.

As coil 3 is in the back driver side, I replaced it with a new one. Then I threw the old coil 3 in coil 6, just to see if the problem and CEL follows the coil.